Me going green … and dragging my family with me, kicking and screaming!

Baby steps toward self sufficience and greenocity

Criss-cross applesauce May 24, 2009

Filed under: cleaning,frugal living,green living,no poo — razberiswrl @ 2:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

So, 6 whole weeks into the no poo thing.  I have not used commercial shampoo or conditioner for SIX weeks.

This fact still stuns me.  Anyway …

So, my scalp issues have not gotten any better.  In fact, I think they’re getting worse but in a slightly different way.  Bigger patches, smaller flakes, more seeping, more itching.  I don’t know WHAT to think at this point, but I’ve decided to try some new things to try to pinpoint the cause.  I mean, this could just be something that won’t go away, but I’d like to see if I can at least ease my suffering, ya know?  So, I was thinking about the thing that is most problematic with commercial shampoo for people who strive to be low impact on the earth and not massage chemicals into their brain … Sodium Lauryl or Laureth Sulfate.  Look, I’m no chemist, but I took 2 college semesters of general chemistry, and I’m thinking … yeah, I know when you modify a molecule by adding or subtracting an atom, the result can be something very similar or something VERY VERY different (take margarine and plastic for instance, LOL, I hear they only differ by 1 atom or something  /sarcasm) … so I’m thinking Sodium Bicarbonate … Sodium Lauryl Sulfate … I know they’re different, but what if the problem FOR ME is the SODIUM??  So, I have to explore that.  Which brings me to the applesauce.

Yep.  This is going EXACTLY where you think it is.

I read on Live Journal that you can wash your hair with applesauce (AS from here on out), and I DID IT.

And I DID NOT LIKE IT!

I mixed 1/3c AS to 1/3c water and massaged it into my scalp Saturday evening.  Let it sit for a min, then  rinsed and rinsed and rinsed.  I’m not sure if I used too much, or too little, or maybe the amount I used was just right and I just dumped too much of it down my back on accident … I don’t really know.  All I know is that my hair was definitely greasy afterward, but the ends were SUPER dry and brittle feeling.   I also used a lemon juice rinse.  I really have to start using the variables 1 at a time so I can pinpoint better, LOL!   So, I am going to try the AS again in a couple of days, I used BS/ACV today because I had to work, and I needed to be clean, LOL!

I will most likely try AS with an ACV rinse in 2 days.  I think I will not dilute the AS with water this time.  I will just plop it on my head and mush into my scalp.

We shall see …

 

One Response to “Criss-cross applesauce”

  1. Dessa Says:

    The seeping combined with your patches and flakes sounds like seborrhea. Mom has that. She used to have to get little tubes of gel from a dermatologist to clear it up. Now she uses name brand Head and Shoulders to wash her hair. She never uses conditioner. If she washes with any other kind of shampoo, including knock off Head and Shoulders, the seborrhea flares up again.


Leave a Reply

